On September 7th & 8th a crew of 115 developers, designers, energy experts, utility representatives, behavioural economists, MaRSians and volunteers descended on 101 College Street for the first MaRS Energy Hackathon. Many had gotten a chance to warm up, form teams, and discuss ideas the night before during a pre-Hack ideation party at collaborative workspace Bento Miso.

The Hackathon attracted a focused group of skilled participants who were tasked with solving a very specific problem. The challenge was to use the Green Button open API Data Set and Standard to develop solutions to engage consumers with their electricity consumption data by:

• Increasing education around electricity consumption

• Encouraging bill savings and reduction of environmental impact through conservation and load-shifting

• Encouraging awareness and engagement with electricity consumption across varied demographic and electrically aware customer segments

Judge’s Panel

The 36-hour event saw the delivery of 11 excellent solutions to the problem of consumer engagement. These ranged from the use of simple text message-based notification systems, to using social media to encourage changes in conservation-related behaviours.

We’ve sponsored the Award for ‘Best UX/Design’, and will be mentoring the winning groupWe’re looking forward to getting started on developing and refining the Energy Tipper app with them.

‘Best Design’ Winner: Energy Tipper



1st Place: Electric Company (Barkly): Mariusz Dabrowski, Poyan Pourshian, Yuxing “Felix” Huang
• $ 1,500 ; Chagpar & Associates-backed Prepr Innovation Grant

1st Runner Up: Qriket (Wattage) Jonny Comparelli, Mark Muralla, Piotr Sobkowski, Yunbo Lee, Ivan Rivero Alonso
• $1,000

2nd Runner Up: Space Bears (Spring Gauge) Elgin Chau, Kevin Yuen, Kent English
• $500

Pivot Design Group Award for Best UX/Design: Energy Tipper Bianca Sayan, Erich Wetz, Lucy Lin

MaRS Future Impact Award: PowerInform Geordie Bilkey, Andrée Monette, Sheldon Chi, Tikhon Botchkarev

Honourable Mention: Green Flamingo Kristopher Kivutha, Sina Shahandeh, Dan Desmarais, Geoff Foulds

Honourable Mention: Intelliware (Emmit) Farzad Kohantorabi, Peter Campeau, Sumit Sikder, Ashwin Sureshkumar, Veronica Wong

Special Thanks to Lindsay Archibald from MaRS for the event recap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *